17.3 K Posts
2261 Users
40191 Likes
2 M Views
(@judes)
Very Active Member

Posted by: @thenystagmus
Posted by: @judes

@thenystagmus Check out Cooksey/Cawthorn link below. It helped me tremendously with all my symptoms 22 years ago. These are for vestibular rehab so if that's your issue, they will help retrain your brain.

A Warning (and I'm not a medical professional of any kind, just someone with a history and diagnosis of Meniere's Disease): Doing these will trigger symptoms, so beware, don't start on these if you're weak (I overdid it last week, so had to take break) or too shaky. These have been around a LONG time and helped me when literally nothing else did. No, I don't know if you have Meniere's, but it does sound like you are having vestibular issues and these will help.

https://dizziness-and-balance.com/treatment/rehab/cawthorne.html

Wishing you the best!

Thanks judes! I just recently "graduated" from over 3 months of weekly therapy sessions with an excellent vestibular physical therapist. I received updated exercises each week from my therapist, tailored to my progress. Along with you,  I can heartily recommend doing vestibular therapy. Before I started it, I had plateaued and was relapsing into episodes of my initial severity of symptoms. You're right, doing the vestibular exercises will trigger symptoms, but that's what it took for my brain to learn to compensate for my injury. I'm still injured, but most of the time my brain has learned how to work around it. My vestibular PT told me to assess my level of symptoms, say if I was at 4/10, to not trigger my symptoms to increase more than 2 points, say to 6/10. I did what exercises I could tolerate twice each day. (Ok, I took Sundays off ☺️) I really don't think I would be experiencing the recovery I am without having done that.

Wishing you well also! 😏🙏